Sense of Discovery

The new half-year programme is out now: Themed "Sense of Discovery", we would like to invite you on a discovery tour.

About small and big discoveries

Discoveries shape our lives. Perhaps for some people this word conjures up great things like new planets or new knowledge. For others, discovery is associated more with small, private things like the first baby teeth or a new love. Yet sometimes discoveries also entail diff iculties. The colonial spirit of discovery of modernity and its resonances in art are for good reason critically discussed today. And the unmediated presence of what is new—which, because we have identified it, is now in the world—often calls for confrontation. Thus the discoverer always has courage, for she must trust strange companions along the way: intuition, inquiry and curiosity. But discoveries can also be magical, as they have the power to suddenly change what is given.

In the course of the next time, we would like to show you in a special way that the MdbK can be a magical place. Female artists previously known only from archives will make an appearance with their works. The Bühler-Brockhaus donation can be rediscovered in new spaces. Works of art have come from as far away. Others have, after years, left our storeroom because the vistors' feedback on the exhibition Leipzig: A Universe of Images. 1905 – 2022 inspired us to redesign the presentation of our collection. The MdbK [next;raum] sees itself as a place for discovering new or forgotten contexts. In our shop MZIN, you can seek out unusual literature on art, and the Café Treff invites you to culinary discoveries. We look forward to you visit.

Luther and the Ethiopian Orthodox Church

commendation letter for Abba Mikaᵓel by Martin Luther
commendation letter for Abba Mikaᵓel by Martin Luther

In the European consciousness, pre-modern Africa is generally regarded as a continent without history. In local history books, it appears for the first time in the context of colonisation when Africa was “discovered” by Europeans. This misunderstanding is rooted in the colonial premises of European research on Africa. A recently rediscovered letter by Martin Luther shows how the Ethiopian Orthodox Church had a transconfessional influence on him and the Reformation. In the summer of 1534, Luther met with the Ethiopian Orthodox monk Abba Mikaᵓel (ሚካኤል) in Wittenberg. Since the beginning of the fourth century, Christianity had already gained currency in Ethiopia, but was largely isolated from the influence of the universal church with the expansion of Islam in the seventh century. The originality that was (allegedly) preserved by this isolation was of particular interest to Luther. He hoped to find arguments for his theological views to distinguish them from those of the Catholic Church, which in his eyes had deviated far from the original teachings. Exemplifying the encounter between Abba Mikaᵓel and Martin Luther and the intercultural links, the MdbK will be showing in the coming months Ethiopian icon in the context of Reformation paintings by the two Cranachs.

A Guest from LA

Aelbert Cuyp, View of Dordrecht (detail), c. 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, View of Dordrecht (detail), c. 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, View of Dordrecht (detail), c. 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, View of Dordrecht (detail), c. 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, View of Dordrecht (detail), c. 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, View of Dordrecht (detail), c. 1647

Two paintings by the Dutch painter Aelbert Cuyp (1620–1691), currently owned by the MdbK and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, show views of his home city of Dordrecht. These two paintings were originally the left and right halves of the panoramic View of Dordrecht (c. 1647), which can now be seen again in its entirety for the first time in Leipzig. The painting from Los Angeles first appeared in an estate auction in Amsterdam in 1822. Before 1822, the original large format must have been sawn apart. The reason for this may have been that, at the time, Cuyp’s paintings were fetching high prices on the European
art market. The Leipzig half entered the MdbK collection in 1916 from the estate of Alfred Thieme. In preparation for the merging of the two halves, the heavily yellowed varnish was removed and the original colour was uncovered. At the same time, the restoration offered the opportunity to carry out numerous technological investigations. A small presentation provides information on the results.

MdbK [next;raum]

exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
exhibition view Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022

A 60 square-metre room in the middle of the presentation of the Renaissance collection has been converted into the MdbK [next;raum]. In this space, current socio-political themes are to be taken up and reflected upon in relation to the work of the MdbK, and dialogues are to be initiated. Visitors are invited to participate in this process. Inspiration is provided by stimulating wall texts, objects and selected literature (currently from the feminist women’s library MonaliesA and the library of the MdbK). In episode #1 an MdbK [next;raum] working group with 14 participants—from diverse fields, including political education, theology, art, sociology and cultural studies—has been addressing the topic of the representation of women* and genders in the collections and exhibitions of the MdbK since the end of 2021. The group will present the results of their work until November 27th, 2022, with the title Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum]. The questions and suggestions will also find their way into the internal discussions at the MdbK about its policies, organisational structure and exhibition planning. Starting in the autumn, new event formats will welcome everyone who is interested to continue the dialogue.

Art mediation

Since 2017, once a month the MdbK has been inviting women and girls aged 14 and older to the transcultural programme Sprich mit mir! (Talk to me!) for meeting people and learning languages. Together, women who speak German and women who are learning German visit the MdbK and exchange ideas about art and life. In this way, they develop their language skills, make contacts and take advantage of the opportunities of living diversity.

MZIN – Concept Store

Karen Laube and Philipp Neumann at MZIN, 2022
Karen Laube and Philipp Neumann at MZIN, 2022
MZIN, 2022
MZIN, 2022

MZIN began in 2008 as a diploma project by Philipp Neumann at the Leipzig Academy of Visual Arts and has been run by him and Karen Laube to this day. Since March 2022, the two graphic designers have
been offering at the MdbK their carefully curated selection of international book and magazine titles from the fields of art, design, architecture and fashion. This offer is supplemented by artists’ editions, the MdbK
catalogues and merchandise. The shop’s design, developed exclusively for the MdbK, is flexible, modular and process-oriented. On two Thursdays a month, MZIN invites visitors to events with guests from the fields of book design, publishing, art and music. Temporary small exhibitions are dedicated to the graphic arts from silk-screen printing to photography to artists’ books.

Sense of Discovery

Das neue Halbjahresprogramm ist da: Unter dem Motto "Sense of Discovery" möchten wir Sie zu einer Entdeckungstour im MdbK einladen. Das Heft können Sie kostenlos im Museum mitnehmen.

Von kleinen und großen Entdeckungen

Entdeckungen prägen unser Leben. Manche denken bei dem Wort an ganz Großes, wie neue Planeten oder neue Erkenntnisse. Andere verbinden mit dem Entdecken eher Kleines, Privates wie die ersten Milchzähne oder eine neue Liebe. Mitunter bedeuten Entdeckungen jedoch auch Schwierigkeiten. Der koloniale Entdeckergestus der Moderne und seine Resonanzen in der Kunst werden heute zu Recht kritisch diskutiert. Auch fordert die unvermittelte Präsenz des Neuen – das nun, da wir es erkannt haben, in der Welt ist – oft Auseinandersetzung ein. Die Entdeckerin ist deshalb immer mutig, denn sie muss seltsamen Begleiterinnen über den Weg trauen: der Intuition, der Frage und der Neugier. Entdeckungen können aber auch magisch sein, haben sie doch die Kraft, Gegebenes plötzlich zu verändern.

Dass das MdbK ein magischer Ort sein kann, möchten wir Ihnen in der nächsten Zeit in besonderem Maße zeigen. Künstlerinnen, die bisher nur aus Archiven bekannt waren, treten mit ihren Werken in Erscheinung. Die Schenkung Bühler-Brockhaus kann in neuen Räumen wiederentdeckt werden. Kunstwerke kommen von weit her. Andere haben nach Jahren unser Magazin verlassen, weil die Besucher*innen der Ausstellung Bilderkosmos Leipzig. 1905 – 2022 angeregt haben, unsere Präsentation neu zu konzipieren. Der MdbK [next;raum] versteht sich als Ort der Entdeckung von neuen oder vergessenen Zusammenhängen. In unserem Shop MZIN können Sie ungewöhnliche Literatur zur Kunst aufspüren, und das Café Trefflädt zu kulinarischen Entdeckungen ein. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch.

Luther und die äthopisch-orthodoxe Kirche

Empfehlungsschreiben für den äthiopisch-orthodoxen Mönch Abba Mikaᵓel von Martin Luther, 1534
Empfehlungsschreiben für den äthiopisch-orthodoxen Mönch Abba Mikaᵓel von Martin Luther, 1534

In der europäischen Wahrnehmung gilt das vormoderne Afrika meist als Kontinent ohne Geschichte. In hiesigen Geschichtsbüchern taucht es erst im Kontext der Kolonisierung auf, als Afrika von Europäern „entdeckt“ wurde. Diese Fehleinschätzung ist in den kolonialen Prämissen der europäischen Afrika-Forschung begründet. Ein kürzlich wiederentdeckter Brief Martin Luthers zeigt den transkonfessionellen Einfluss der äthiopisch-orthodoxen Kirche auf ihn und die Reformation. Im Sommer 1534 traf Luther in Wittenberg den äthiopisch-orthodoxen Mönch Abba Mikaᵓel (ሚካኤል). Bereits seit Beginn des vierten Jahrhunderts verbreitete sich das Christentum in Äthiopien, wurde jedoch mit der Ausdehnung des Islam im siebten Jahrhundert weitgehend vom Einfluss der Weltkirche isoliert. Die durch diese Isolation (vermeintlich) erhalten gebliebene Ursprünglichkeit war für Luther von besonderem Interesse. Er erhoffte sich Argumente für seine theologischen Auffassungen in Abgrenzung zur denen der katholischen Kirche, die in seinen Augen weit von der ursprünglichen Lehre abgewichen war. Exemplarisch für die Begegnung zwischen Abba Mikaᵓel und Martin Luther und die interkulturellen Verflechtungen zeigt das MdbK in den kommenden Monaten eine äthiopische Ikone im Kontext reformatorischer Gemälde der beiden Cranachs.

Zu Gast aus Los Angeles

Aelbert Cuyp, Ansicht von Dordrecht (Detail), um 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, Ansicht von Dordrecht (Detail), um 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, Ansicht von Dordrecht (Detail), um 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, Ansicht von Dordrecht (Detail), um 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, Ansicht von Dordrecht (Detail), um 1647
Aelbert Cuyp, Ansicht von Dordrecht (Detail), um 1647

Zwei Gemälde von Aelbert Cuyp (1620 - 1691), die heute dem Los Angeles County Museum of Art, USA, und dem MdbK gehören, zeigen Ansichten seiner Heimatstadt Dordrecht in Holland. Ursprünglich waren diese beiden Bilder, die linke und rechte Hälfte, Teil eines panoramaartigen Gemäldes. Jüngere Untersuchungen in Leipzig, Los Angeles und Dordrecht haben die Annahme einer Zusammengehörigkeit bestätigt. Das Gemälde aus Los Angeles tauchte erstmals 1822 in einer Nachlassauktion in Amsterdam auf. Zwischen 1759 und 1822 muss das ursprüngliche Großformat auseinandergesägt worden sein. In dieser Zeit erzielten Gemälde Cuyps auf dem europäischen Kunstmarkt hohe Preise. Dies könnte ein Grund dafür gewesen sein, die Holztafel in zwei Teile zu sägen. Die Präsentation der beiden Bilder nebeneinander wird im zweiten Obergeschoss in der Raumgruppe der Niederländischen Malerei, gemeinsam mit einer Dokumentation des Restaurierungsprozess gezeigt.

MdbK [next;raum]

Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022
Ausstellungsansicht Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum], 2022

Ein 60 m2 großer Raum inmitten der Sammlungspräsentation Renaissance ist zum MdbK [next;raum] umgebaut worden. In ihm sollen aktuelle gesellschaftspolitische Themen aufgegriffen, in Beziehung zur Arbeit des MdbK reflektiert und Dialoge darüber initiiert werden. Die Besucher*innen sind eingeladen, an diesem Prozess teilzunehmen. Aktivierende Wandtexte, ausgewählte Literatur (derzeit aus der feministischen Frauenbibliothek MonaliesA und der Bibliothek des MdbK) und Objekte geben dafür Anregungen. In Folge #1 beschäftigte sich seit Ende 2021 eine MdbK [next;raum]-Arbeitsgruppe mit 14 Teilnehmer*innen – u. a. aus den Bereichen politische Bildung, Theologie, Kunst, Soziologie und Kulturwissenschaften – mit dem Thema Repräsentation von Frauen* und Geschlechtern in den Sammlungen und Ausstellungen des MdbK. Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit präsentiert die Gruppe bis zum 27.11.2022 unter dem Titel Unterm Rock. Reflections on Gender Issues at MdbK [next;raum]. Die Fragen und Anregungen finden außerdem Eingang in die internen Diskussionen im MdbK um Leitbild, Organisationsstruktur oder Ausstellungsplanung. Neue Veranstaltungsformate laden ab dem Herbst alle Interessierten ein, den Dialog fortzuführen.

Kunstvermittlung

Seit 2017 lädt das MdbK Frauen und Mädchen ab 14 Jahren einmal im Monat zum transkulturellen Sprachlern- und Begegnungsangebot Sprich mit mir! ein. Deutsch sprechende wie Deutsch lernende Frauen besuchen gemeinsam das MdbK und tauschen sich über Kunst und das Leben aus. Dabei erweitern sie ihre Sprachkenntnisse, knüpfen Kontakte und nutzen die Chancen gelebter Diversität. Sprich mit mir! ist eine Kooperation mit dem Soziokulturellen Zentrum Frauenkultur e. V. Leipzig und dessen Projekt FiA – Frauen in Arbeit. Interkulturelles Frauen- Informationsund Begegnungszentrum.
In den vergangenen beiden Pandemiejahren wurde das Sprachtandem um aufsuchende Kulturarbeit, z. B. in Gemeinschaftsunterkünften, erweitert.

MZIN – Concept Store

Karen Laube und Philipp Neumann im MZIN, 2022
Karen Laube und Philipp Neumann im MZIN, 2022
MZIN, 2022
MZIN, 2022

MZIN entstand 2008 als Diplomarbeit von Philipp Neumann an der Leipziger Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst und wird seitdem von ihm und Karen Laube betrieben. Seit März 2022 bieten die beiden Grafikdesigner*innen im MdbK ihre sorgfältig kuratierte Auswahl internationaler Buch- und Magazintitel aus den Bereichen Kunst, Design, Architektur und Mode an. Ergänzt wird dieses Angebot um Künstlereditionen, die Kataloge des MdbK und Merchandiseartikel. Die exklusiv für das MdbK entwickelte Gestaltung des Shops ist flexibel, modular und prozessorientiert. An zwei Donnerstagen im Monat lädt MZIN zu Veranstaltungen mit Gästen aus den Bereichen Buchgestaltung, Verlagswesen, Kunst und Musik ein. Wechselnde kleine Ausstellungen sind den grafischen Künsten, vom Siebdruck über die Fotografie bis zum Künstlerbuch, gewidmet.